Brillante Mendoza to head MGGA Jury
Tran Anh Hung, Lee Leih and Patrick Tam among jury members


Kuala Lumpur, 22 November 2017 – Malaysia International Film Festival (MIFFest) has announced the Jury Panel yesterday night at the Malaysia Golden Global Awards Gala Night x 2017 Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival which successfully ended at Amba Taipei Ximending. It is a place to gather and foster the connection with filmmakers over the world. The night has received a significant dose of star power including Taiwanese actress Wu KeXi, Hong Kong actress Gloria Yip, Malaysian actor Frederick Lee and Jack (Ah Ze) together with the chairman of Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival Sylvia Chang and the CEO of TGHFF Wen Tien Hsiang has attended the event. Brillante Mendoza will serve as jury president of the 2nd Malaysia Golden Global Awards (MGGA), which will run from 25th February to 2nd March 2018.

A self-described “late bloomer” in filmmaking, Mendoza started out in advertising before turning to directing his own films at the age of 45. Today, he is one of the Philippines’ most celebrated filmmakers, his films often competing at the Cannes Film Festival. He first won Best Director in Cannes in 2009 for the gritty crime drama Kinatay. Last year, Ma Rosa, a drama about drugs and corruption, competed for the Palme d’Or and garnered a Best Actor award for lead actress Jaclyn Jose. Mendoza’s brand of social realism continues to shed light on the struggles of the less privileged in Filipino society.

“We are extremely honoured that Mr. Mendoza has accepted our offer to be president of the MGGA 2018 jury. Mr. Mendoza is a leading light of Southeast Asian cinema. His gritty, powerful socially-conscious films are proof that cinema can play a vital role in illuminating and eliminating the social ills that plague our modern societies,” says Joanne Goh, Managing Director of MIFFest and MGGA.

The 5 other jury members are renowned Asian filmmakers Tran Anh Hung (director, Scent of the Green Papaya, Norwegian Wood. Eternity), Patrick Tam (director, After This Our Exile), Lee Lieh (actor, producer, Jump Ashin!, Monga), Suhasini Maniratnam (actor, writer, director, Bandhana, Suprabhata, Indira) and Malaysian filmmaker Dain Iskandar Said (director, Interchange).

An icon of Korean Cinema and a loved and admired figure internationally, Ki